ACT Elects National Executives for the First Time


Story by: Emmanuel Gazari (National Secretary)

Torve ( V/R), Oct 9, ACTNEWS- The Association of Catholic Teachers (ACT) over the last weekend gathered at a Delegates Meeting in TorveAkatsi in the Volta Region to reflect on the theme: “Transformational Leadership of Association of Catholic Teachers (ACT) at the service of the Ghana Catholic Education Policy.”

As part of activities marking the Delegates Meeting was the election of the first National Executives to steer the affairs of the Association for the next three years.

The Association which has been in existence since 2001 but was formally inaugurated in 2008 by Most Rev. Thomas K. Mensah Metropolitan Arch-Bishop of Kumasi had no elected executives at the National level. It was administered by the National Coordinating Team (executives drawn from the various Dioceses across the country where the Association exists).

In September 2018, ACT held its inaugural National Conference in Kumasi – Adom Fie where the National Constitution was promulgated giving room for members of the Association to apply the constitution in their activities.

This year’s meeting was attended by delegates from twelve (12) dioceses. Four delegates from each diocese had a voting right, that is, the president, Secretary, financial secretary and coordinator.

The Association at the end of the meeting issued a press release on some contemporary issues such as the Free SHS, The New Curriculum, The Pre-tertiary Education Bill, and The Complementary Sexuality Education and so on.

The key note address was delivered by Nana C.D.B Mensah (Coordinator of the Biblical Apostolate) on behalf of the Episcopal Chairman for Education His Grace Arch Bishop John Bonaventure Kwofie, Bishop of Greater Accra Arch Diocese. The Volta Regional Manager of Catholic Schools Mr. Gustav K. Asem chaired the function on behalf of the General Manager Mrs. Doris Ashun who had to attend to some very important issues.

In attendance also was a representative of GNAT Madam Patience Duho, the National Chairperson of the Association of Catholic Teacher Trainees (ACTT), Miss Patricia Esi Acquah; The Diocesan Laity Director for Keta – Akatsi Diocese, Sir, Adzamli; Rev. Fr. Reuben Adzakey Secretary to the Bishop Most Rev. Fr. Gabriel Edoe Kumordji, Rev. Fr. Senu the Director of the Pastoral Center. Other dignitaries were Mr. Samuel Twumasi Ankrah, member of the Adhoc Election Management Board (AEMB) Mr Mr. Abuku Stephen Akatsi Deanery Laity Chairman and member of the AEMB and Rev. Fr. Gideon Fianya Chaplain of St. Catherine SHS; Member AEMB

The First National Executives who were elected are:

Mr. Emmanuel H. DogodziPresident Accra Archdiocese

Mr. Francis Awan NdaagoVice President Navrongo-Bolgatanga Diocese

Mr. Emmanuel GazariSecretary Navrongo-Bolgatanga Diocese

Miss. Rita NdonibiAssistant Secretary Kumasi Archdiocese

Mr. Solomon Armah BoadiTreasurer Secondi-Takoradi Diocese

Mr. Charles YoungsFinancial Secretary Ho Diocese

Mr. Williams Boakye BaafiCoordinator Konongo-Mampong Diocese

Mr. Matthew Asakiwine Co-opted Sunyani Diocese

Miss. Cynthia Dadzie Co-opted Cape Coast Archdiocese

The executives were installed by Rev. Fr. Peter Senu who celebrated mass for the delegates. They have a three year mandate which is renewable for a second term.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *